Nineteen New United States Citizens Naturalized Thursday in Natchez

From:  News Release   2/9/18   GCN
Natchez, Miss. – Nineteen people from 14 different countries were sworn in as United States citizens yesterday during a Naturalization Ceremony held at the United States District Court in Natchez, Mississippi.
Senior U.S. District Court Judge David C. Bramlette III presided over the ceremony.  Judge Bramlette welcomed family, friends, soon-to-be citizens, and special guests, including Natchez Mayor Darryl Grennell.  Following a performance of “America the Beautiful” and “My Country Tis of Thee” by Damira McGruder from Natchez Cathedral High School, the candidates were presented for citizenship by Assistant U.S. Attorney, Kristi H. Johnson, on behalf of the Attorney General of the United States Jeff Sessions.
After Arthur Johnston, Clerk of the U.S. District Court, administered the Oath of Allegiance for citizenship, those assembled recited the Pledge of Allegiance for the first time as United States citizens. 
Judge Bramlette congratulated the new citizens and commended the honorees for their hard work to achieve citizenship.  “We’re here this morning because you have seen the lighthouse beckoning you,” Bramlette said.  “Each of you have your own story to tell  . . . . Your hopes and dreams are as diverse as the regions that brought you here.  You’ve come, perhaps to escape social oppression and discrimination and some strife, but all of you are here to enjoy justice, which is available to you in the land of the free.  The pathway that was put out for some of you, perhaps all of you, has been emotionally and financially exhausting.  Democracy is not easy.” 
Judge Bramlette then presented them with certificates of citizenship.  Representatives from the local chapter of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution presented American flags and gift bags to the new citizens.
The new citizens originated from the following 14 countries:  India, Vietnam, Turkey, Moldova, Lebanon, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Dominican Republic, Thailand, Senegal, Yemen, Chile, and Australia.